top of page

Released 29 February 2024 // Poetry Collection // 64 pages


'Oormilaʼs Patchwork Fugue takes you on a speculative and metaphysical journey through genuine emotions and palpable memories. This experimental body of work torches and sharpens the mind in such a breathtaking and visceral way that enables readers to see through the possibilities embedded in intangible things. Every line, every stanza fulfills its own purpose—the staccato rhythm of the language grants the poems a kind of music that is emotive, moving, and delightful. An artistic dexterity is experienced, each line flowing effortlessly and nudging you closer to efflorescence. This collection evidently presents the writer as a poet of whom more stellar works are expected.'


–Joshua Effiong, author of Autopsy of Things Left Unnamed


'In her anticipated debut, Patchwork Fugue, Oormila lets us in on a little secret: survival is in the bones. You will follow her along, poem by poem, farther out into the vast, open water, trusting her steady, vivid voice as your guide. One thing is clear: she is a master of imagery and dimension, lending itself to the magic and lushness of her language. Patchwork Fugue is a must read for stoics and romantics, alike.'


– Carolynn Kingyens, author of Before the Big Bang Makes a Sound and Coupling (Kelsay Books)

Patchwork Fugue - Oormila V. Prahlad

  • Oormila Vijayakrishnan Prahlad is an Indian-Australian artist, poet, and improv pianist who was raised in the Middle East. Her poetry and art have been nominated for a Pushcart Prize and multiple times for the Best of the Net. She was long-listed for the 2022 Dai Fry Memorial award for Mystical poetry in Wales, UK. She won the 66th Moon Prize awarded by Writing in a Woman’s Voice Journal and was a finalist in the Glass House Poetry Awards. She is the author of three micro chapbooks published by Origami Poems Project. She lives and works in New South Wales on the traditional lands of The Eora Nation. Find her at

bottom of page